This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Paralympic Committee (Japan)


Last modified: 2022-03-12 by zachary harden
Keywords: paralympics | japan | tokyo |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Paralympic Committee (Japan)]
image by Zachary Harden, 25 August 2017

See also:


[Paralympic Committee (Japan)]
updated logo flag; image by Zachary Harden, 7 March 2022

The Japanese Paralympic Committee (JPC; 日本パラリンピック委員会, Nippon Pararinpikku Iinkai) was formed on August 20th, 1999, as a part of the Japanese Para-Sports Association with support from the Ministry of Helath and Welfare. Japan was host to the 1998 Winter Paralympics in Nagano and will be host of the 2020 Summer Paralympics in Tokyo.
Zachary Harden, 25 August 2017


The flag is a logo on white. Logo is the national flag placed above the three "agitos", the main logo of the International Paralympic Committee.
Zachary Harden, 25 August 2017

Flag bearers

GAMES    	            FLAG BEARER	            SPORT
2018 Pyeongchang            Momoka Muraoka          Alpine Skiing
2016 Rio                    Yui Kamiji              Athletics
2014 Sochi                  Akira Kano              Alpine Skiing
2012 London                 Keiichi Kimura          Swimming
2010 Vancouver              Takayuki Endo           Ice Sledge Hockey
2008 Beijing                Toru Suzuki             Athletics
2006 Turin                  Yoshihiro Nitta         Cross-Country Skiing
2004 Athens                 Yoshikazu Matsumoto     Judo
2002 Salt Lake City         Miyuki Kobayashi        Nordic Skiing
2000 Sydney                 Masako Yonezawa         Archery
1998 Nagano                 Masaji Kato             Ice Sledge Hockey
1996 Atlanta                Unknown
1994 Lillehammer            Unknown
1992 Tignes-Albertsville    Unknown
1992 Barcelona              Unknown
1988 Innsbruck              Unknown
1988 Seoul                  Unknown
1984 Innsbruck              None(2)
1984 Stoke M.-New York      None(3)
1980 Geilo                  Unknown
1980 Arnhem                 Unknown
1976 Örnsköldsvik           Unknown
1976 Toronto                Unknown
1972 Heidelberg             Unknown
1968 Tel-Aviv               None(2)
1964 Tokyo                  None(1)
Ed. Notes: Games were played in the same year until 1994 which started with winter, then summer. Until those games, his list will have summer first, then winter, in the terms of order.
  • 1. Tokyo Metropolitan Police carried all flags into the stadium, however Shigeo Aono gave the athlete's oath.
  • 2. Volunteers carried the flags in for the athletes.
  • 3. Volunteers carried the flags in for the athletes at the Stoke Mandeville ceremonies, no idea about New York.