This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website


Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: opec | organization of petroleum exporting countries | international organizations |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[OPEC flag]
image by Sean McKinniss, 2 March 2002

See also:

Description of the flag

The Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries, or OPEC, "is an international Organization of eleven developing countries which are heavily reliant on oil revenues as their main source of income. Membership is open to any country which is a substantial net exporter of oil and which shares the ideals of the Organization. The current Members are Algeria, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Venezuela.
OPEC's eleven Members collectively supply about 40 per cent of the world's oil output, and possess more than three-quarters of the world's total proven crude oil reserves."
The flag itself consists of a white OPEC logo on a light blue field.

I have drawn the flag based upon the one I have seen on television at OPEC's Vienna headquarters.
Sean McKinniss, 2 March 2002

OPEC was founded in 1960 and the flag adopted in 1970.
Ivan Sache, 3 March 2002