This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization

Last modified: 2014-05-29 by zoltán horváth
Keywords: amazon cooperation treaty organization | south america | map |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization Flag]
image by Zoltán Horváth, 26 February 2010

See also:

About the organization 

Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization
Organización del Tratado de Cooperación Amazónica (Spanish)
Organizaçao do Tratado de Cooperaçao Amaz˘nica (Portugese)
De Organisatie van de Overeenkomst voor Amazonische Samenwerking (Dutch)

The Amazon Cooperation Treaty (ACT) was signed on 3 July 1978 by Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname and Venezuela, aimed at promoting joint actions towards the harmonious development of the Amazon Basin. By that time, ACTO Member States undertook the shared commitment with environmental preservation and the rational use of the Amazonian natural resources. In 1995, the eight nations decided to create the ACTO, to strengthen and implement the Treaty goals. The amendment to the ACT was approved three years later, and the Permanent Secretariat was established in Brasilia in December 2002. ACTO is convinced that the Amazon region, for having one of the richest natural heritages in the world, plays a strategic role in inducing the upcoming development of the Amazon countries and region. It is a heritage that should be preserved but, above all, should be promoted pursuant to the principles of sustainable development.
Home page: 
Zoltán Horváth, 26 February 2010

The flag

Flag of ACTO is white with its emblem in center of flag. Emblem is a grey map of South American continent where Amazon Basin's area is indicated with a different (lighter) shade. Around the map, blue, red, yellow and green circles are placed. Dimension is ~5:8.
Image of flag: (cover page in midst of members' flag)
Zoltán Horváth, 25 February 2010