This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website


Indian Princely State

Last modified: 2007-10-28 by ian macdonald
Keywords: indian princely state | sirohi | pancharanga |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[JaisSirohialmer] by Jorge Candeias

Source: Indian Princely States

See also:

Sirohi was a small but populous 15-gun state: 1,994 sq.mi., with a population of 216,000 people in 1931. Haynes shows a flag horizontally stripped (with equal stripes, this time) in orange (saffron?), green, red, blue and white.
Jorge Candeias, 1 May 2002

The five-colored flag is named "Pancharanga", the flag with the five colors of the Pajputs. Ziggioto (1998) has a flag with proportions 2:3.
Jarig Bakker, 1 May 2002

Princely States of Rajputana, Rajputana Residency, Present-day Rajasthan
15 Gun Salute
Area: 5, 164
Acceded to the Union of India on Jan.15, 1949

History: Prithviraj III (died 1193), the last Hindu ruler of Delhi, was ancestor of Rao Deoraj, the founder of the Deora Clan of the Chauhan Dynasty. His  descendant, Rao Shobhaji was the first Rao of Sirohi in 1405.

"The State flag of Sirohi is a "Panchranga" of the Rajputs, in rectangular form, of five horizontal bands in colors (from the top): saffron (orange), green, red, blue and white."
Chrystian Kretowicz, 18 January 2003