This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ireland: county colours of Ulster


Last modified: 2009-05-24 by rob raeside
Keywords: ireland | ulster | donegal | derry | tyrone | fermanagh | antrim | down | armagh | monaghan | cavan | hand (red) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Ulster] by Mario Fabretto

See also:

County colours in Ulster

The flags in popular use are based on the colours of the county teams in Gaelic football and hurling - the most popular spectator sports. As these flags are entirely unofficial, the designs vary: one sees the colours arranged as horizontal stripes, quarters, lozenges, etc., but vertical stripes are the most common. These flags have outgrown their sporting origins and are now widely used on festive occasions, flown alongside the European Union, national and provincial flags at shopping centres, hotels, etc. However, in the six counties that constitute Northern Ireland, use of the county colours is confined to nationalist areas - the counties in Northern Ireland have been abolished for administrative purposes and the sports from which the county colours derive are not generally supported by unionists.

Antrim*Aontroim saffron and white
Armagh*Ard Mhacha orange and white
CavanAn Cabhán blue and white
Derry (Londonderry)*Doire red and white
DonegalDún na nGall (Tír Chonaill) green and gold
Down*An Dún red and black
Fermanagh*Fear Manach green and white
MonaghanMuineachán white and blue
Tyrone*Tír Eoghain white and red

* indicates a county in Northern Ireland

Vincent Morley, 4 December 1996