This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Charente-Maritime (Department, France)

Last modified: 2017-03-16 by ivan sache
Keywords: charente-maritime |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Charente-Maritime - Image by Ivan Sache, 26 September 2009

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 17
Region: Nouvelle-Aquitaine (Poitou-Charentes until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Aunis, Saintonge, Poitou
Bordering departments: Charente, Gironde, Deux-Sèvres, Vendée

Area: 6,864 km2
Population (2006): 598,915 inhabitants

Préfecture: La Rochelle
Sous-préfectures: Jonzac, Rochefort, Saintes, Saint-Jean d'Angély
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 51 cantons, 472 communes.

The department is named after river Charente (360 km), tributary of the Atlantic Ocean. Formerly known as Charente-Inférieure (Lower Charente), the department was renamed Charente-Maritime on 4 September 1941.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Flag of Charente-Maritime

In 2008, the General Council changed the department's logo and flag. The current flag is white with blue-white-green stripes on top and bottom, with proportions 13:2:7:106:7:2:13 and, in the middle, elements of the logo of the Department.

The logo of the Department of Charente-Maritime is made of two birds, blue and green, respectively, flanked in NW by a golden quarter of circle and with the writing "la / Charente / Maritime" in blue letters. On the flag, the writing appears as "la Charente / Maritime" on the left of the birds.
The two birds already appeared on the previous logo of the department.


Former flag of Charente-Maritime - Image by Pascal Gross, 12 August 2000

The official symbolism of the flag is the following:

Two seagulls are flying in unison. The land bird is green, the sea bird is blue. In Charente-Maritime, land and sea are the assets of our success and the promises for our future. This symbol of harmony and balance is inviting all the inhabitants and friends of Charente-Maritime to unite in order to support Charente-Maritime and take part to its flight.

Ivan Sache, 15 September 2001, after information kindly provided by Cécile Cassara (PR Director of the General Council of Charente-Maritime)

Intermunicipal Authorities

Communauté d'agglomération de La Rochelle


Flag of the Communauté d'agglomération de La Rochelle - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 25 February 2017/P>

The Communauté d'agglomération de La Rochelle (162,781 inhabitants in 2011; 32,696 ha) groups 28 municipalities: Angoulins, Aytré, Bourgneuf, Chàtelaillon-Plage, Clavette, Croix-Chapeau, Dompierre-sur-Mer, Esnandes, L'Houmeau, La Jarne, La Jarrie, La Rochelle, Lagord, Marsilly, Montroy, Nieul-sur-Mer, Périgny, Puilboreau, Salles-sur-Mer, Saint-Christophe, Saint-Médard-d'Aunis, Saint-Vivien, Saint-Xandre, Sainte-Soulle, Thairé, Vérines, Yves.
It succeeded in January 2000 the Communuaté de Communes de La Rochelle, then made of 18 municipalities; another 10 municipalities joined in 2014.

The flag of the Communauté d'agglomération de La Rochelle (photo) is white with the logo of the authority and sky blue corners at upper hoist and lower fly, as if the logo was surrounded by an ellipse.
The logo is made up of two triangles, the lower right plain blue like on the current logo of the town of La Rochelle, and the upper right made of blue and white stripe, like the historical flag of La Recohelle.

Olivier Touzeau, 25 February 2017

Communauté d'agglomération Royan Atlantique


Flag of the CARA - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 18 August 2016

As of 1 January 2016, the CARA (website) grouped 34 municipalities (total population, 81,036 inhabitants; total area, 60,400 ha). The CARA is seated at Royan, the most populated of the 34 municipalities (18,138 inh.). The second most populated municipality is Saint-Georges-de-Didonne (5,080 inh.), while another 13 municipalities have between 2,000 and 5,000 inhabitants. The least populated municipality of the CARA is Saint-Romain-sur-Gironde (61 inh.).
The CARA owns the Royan Atlantique racetrack, located in the municipality of Les Mathes - La Palmyre, which was fully restructured, revamped and increased from 2011 to 2013. The new horsetrack was inaugurated on 30 June 2013. Spreading over 24 ha, the site includes a grass track for trotting race (1,425 m), a track for flat races (1,375 m), a steeplechase course, and a training center catering 120 horses.

The flag of the CARA (photo) is white with the logo of the institution in the center.

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 18 August 2016