This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Southern Finland province (Finland)

Etelä-Suomen lääni, Södra Finlands län

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: sothern finland | etelä-suomi | södra finland | lynx | armoured arm | crown (yellow) | boat (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Southern Finland] image by António Martins-Tuvalkin, 7 March 2001
[FIS Code]
The flag is a banner of the arms;
arms adopted in 1997.

See also:

Related sites:

About the flag

I can't say anything general for all provinces - old or new - but having lived for a long time in Hämeenlinna (in Swedish: Tavastehus) which used to be the capital of the old Hämeen lääni (Tavastehus län / Häme [=Tavastia] Province) and which now is the capital of Etelä-Suomen lääni (Södra Finlands län / Province of Southern Finland) I have observed that the provincial government there is flying a special pennant during summer time.

The old pennant was w-r-w-r-w where the red "stripes" actually only were a kind of fimbration of the middle white stripe (they were hard to distinguish; the pennant looked all white). The pennant ended in a triple swallow-tale. The entire coat of arms of the province, including the ducal crown, was placed a bit down from the hoist. I must say the design did not look very professional, nor convincing.

After the provincial reform the provincial government of Southern Finland ordered a new swallow-tailed white-blue pennant with the coat of arms placed at the hoist as a banner-of-arms-like square without the crown. I learned from an official of the that three such pennants had been ordered, one for each "service point" of the provincial government (i.e. Hämeenlinna, Kouvola and Helsinki - the latter used to be the capitals of the old provinces Kymen lääni and Uudenmaan lääni, "degraded" to service points due to the reform), but I am not sure if they are really used there. I have never seen (square) banners of arms being flown by any provincial government.
Marco Pribilla, 12 March 2001

Editor's note: The flag is put together of the arms of Tavastia, Karelia and Uusimaa.


Official blazon: (Not yet presented)

Communes (Municipalities)

The following municipalities are located in this province. At this time we only have information available for Helsinki

Etalä-Soumen Communes
Source: Eurostat, 2003
Name Municipal
Official Finnish Swedish
Anjalankoski Anjalankoski   754
Asikkala Asikkala   016
Askola Askola   018
Ekenäs Tammisaari Ekenäs 835
Elimäki Elimäki   044
Espoo Espoo Esbo 049
Forssa Forssa   061
Hämeenkoski Hämeenkoski   283
Hämeenlinna Hämeenlinna Tavastehus 109
Hamina Hamina Fredrikshamn 075
Hanko Hanko Hangö 078
Hartola Hartola   081
Hattula Hattula   082
Hauho Hauho   083
Hausjärvi Hausjärvi   086
Heinola Heinola   111
Helsinki Helsinki Helsingfors 091
Hollola Hollola   098
Humppila Humppila   103
Hyvinkää Hyvinkää   106
Iitti Iitti   142
Imatra Imatra   153
Ingå Inkoo Ingå 149
Jaala Jaala   163
Janakkala Janakkala   165
Järvenpää Järvenpää   186
Jokioinen Jokioinen   169
Joutseno Joutseno   173
Kalvola Kalvola   210
Karis Karjaa Karis 220
Karjalohja Karjalohja   223
Karkkila Karkkila   224
Kärkölä Kärkölä   316
Kauniainen Kauniainen Grankulla 235
Kerava Kerava   245
Kirkkonummi Kirkkonummi Kyrkslätt 257
Kotka Kotka   285
Kouvola Kouvola   286
Kuusankoski Kuusankoski   306
Lahti Lahti Lahtis 398
Lammi Lammi   401
Lapinjärvi Lapinjärvi Lappträsk 407
Lappeenranta Lappeenranta Villmanstrand 405
Lemi Lemi   416
Liljendal Liljendal   424
Lohja Lohja Lojo 444
Loppi Loppi   433
Loviisa Loviisa Lovisa 434
Luumäki Luumäki   441
Mäntsälä Mäntsälä   505
Miehikkälä Miehikkälä   489
Myrskylä Myrskylä   504
Nastola Nastola   532
Nummi-Pusula Nummi-Pusula   540
Nurmijärvi Nurmijärvi   543
Orimattila Orimattila   560
Padasjoki Padasjoki   576
Parikkala Parikkala   580
Pernaja Pernaja Pernå 585
Pohja Pohja Pojo 606
Pornainen Pornainen   611
Porvoo Porvoo Borgå 638
Pukkila Pukkila   616
Pyhtää Pyhtää   624
Rautjärvi Rautjärvi   689
Renko Renko   692
Riihimäki Riihimäki   694
Ruokolahti Ruokolahti   700
Ruotsinpyhtää Ruotsinpyhtää Strömfors 701
Saari Saari   728
Sammatti Sammatti   737
Savitaipale Savitaipale   739
Sipoo Sipoo Sibbo 753
Siuntio Siuntio Sjundeå 755
Suomenniemi Suomenniemi   775
Sysmä Sysmä   781
Taipalsaari Taipalsaari   831
Tammela Tammela   834
Tuulos Tuulos   855
Tuusula Tuusula   858
Uukuniemi Uukuniemi   891
Valkeala Valkeala   909
Vantaa Vantaa Vanda 092
Vihti Vihti   927
Virolahti Virolahti   935
Ylämaa Ylämaa   978
Ypäjä Ypäjä   981