This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sierra de Yieguas (Municipality, Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2017-01-07 by ivan sache
Keywords: sierra de yieguas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Sierra de Yieguas - Image from the Símbolos de Málaga website, 22 September 2016

See also:

Presentation of Sierra de Yieguas

The municipality of Sierra de Yieguas (3,398 inhabitants in 2015; 8,600 ha) is located 80 km north-east of Málaga, on the border with the Province of Seville.

Ivan Sache, 22 September 2016

Symbols of Sierra de Yieguas

The flag of Sierra de Yieguas (photo, photo, photo) is horizontally divided celestial blue-white-dark green, with the municipal coat of arms in the center. The flag does not appear to have been officially registered.

The coat of arms of Sierra de Yieguas, submitted on 25 April 2013 to the Directorate General of the Local Administration, is prescribed by a Resolution adopted on 24 May 2013 by the Directorate General of the Local Administration and published on 4 June 2013 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 107, p. 32 (text).
The coat of arms is described as follows:

Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Argent a mountain vert decreasing in height to sinister a cross sable on its highest peak a river argent flowing to sinister in chief sinister a quarter of a sun or fimbriated sable with metallic rays, 2a. Argent a branch of olive fructed vert a spike of barley of the same fructed or all fimbriated sable per saltire, 2b. Per pale, 1. Or a rose or fimbriated sable slipped and leaved vert all over a bend chequy of three gules and argent, 2. Or three fesses gules. THe shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

The upper quarter represents the local mountains (sierra), whose highest point is the Morrón de la Cruz (478 m), from which four Andalusian provinces can be spotted. The third quarter features the arms of the Centurión, Marquis of Estepa, and of the Fernández de Córdoba.

Ivan Sache, 22 September 2016