This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Braojos (Municipality, Community of Madrid, Spain)

Last modified: 2016-05-15 by ivan sache
Keywords: braojos |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Braojos - Image by Ivan Sache, 1 July 2015

See also:

Presentation of Braojos

The municipality of Braojos (199 inhabitants in 2014; 2,469 ha; municipal website) is located in the north of the Community of Madrid, on the border with Castilla y León (Province of Segovia).

Braojos was incorporated on 18 July 1366 to the Community of the Town and Land of Buitrago , set up by King Alfonso VI. The town was the capital of a subdivision (quarto) encompassing the villages of Navarredonda, San Mamés, Pinilla de Buitrago, Villavieja del Lozoya and La Serna. In 1366, the area was transferred by Peter I to Pedro González de Mendoza. In the 16th century, the villages of Braojos, La Serna and Ventosilla (disappeared long ago) formed a single council.

Ivan Sache, 1 July 2015

Symbols of Braojos

The flag (photos) and arms of Braojos are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 9 June 1994 by the Government of the Community of Madrid and published on 7 July 1994 in the official gazette of the Community of Madrid, No. 159, p. 13 (text) and on 27 July 1994 in the Spanish official gazette, No. 178, p. 24,234 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: In proportions 2:3, red with a green border. In the center is placed the coat of arms of the town.
Coat of arms: Per pale, 1. Vert a tower or masoned and ports and windows sable, 2. Or an oak eradicated vert. The shield surmounted by a Royal Spanish crown.

Ivan Sache, 1 July 2015