This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Emsland County (Germany)

Landkreis Emsland, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: emsland | medlar | dolmen | anchor |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Emsland County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 18 Dec 2007
Flag adopted 27 January 1982

See also:

Emsland county

County: Emsland
county seat: Meppen
area: 2,881.4  km²
population: 313,036
divisions: 60 municipalities, incl. 50 in 9 Samtgemeinden*, 3 cities, 2 towns
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "comprehensive municipality is a combination of smaller municipalities, market towns and cities in Lower Saxony, fulfilling common services 
Jörg Majewski, 18 Dec 2007

Emsland county Coat of Arms

[Emsland County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 18 Dec 2007
adopted 27 January 1982

Description of coat of arms:
In golden shield are three red medlar blossoms seeded golden ordered per fess, red chief charged with a dolmen Argent, blue base wavy charged with a golden anchor.
The chief is representing former Aschendorf-Hümmling County, the anchor former Lingen County, the golden field former Meppen County and the number of medlars is probably alluding to the three former counties. Furthermore the medlars are a modification taken from the arms of the Dukes of Arenberg.
Source: Stadler 1964, pp.14, 57, 61
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 23 Jan 2016