This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Caldas Department (Colombia)

Departamento de Caldas

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: caldas | colombia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Carlos Thompson, 29 August 2004

See also:


Other sites:


The official site <> shows a yellow over green flag.
Dov Gutterman, 12 May 2002

It can be noted that the description of the Caldas flag says the ratio must be of 7:10.
JJ Andersson, 19 July 2002

According to the description of the flag of Caldas department (at Caldas governorship website <>),   the flag has two vertical strips, yellow at the hoist and green at the fly.
It says: "Se compone de los colores amarillo y verde, dispuestos verticalmente en partes iguales, de manera que la parte amarilla corresponde al asta de la bandera. Las medidas normales de la bandera son: largo total 1.50 y ancho 1.05." [Composed by the yellow and green colors, vertically disposed in equal parts, so that the yellow part is at the hoist.  The normal size of the flag are: total length 1.50 and width 1.05].
This gives a ratio of 7:10 (even if the graphic is 1:2). At the front page of the site <>, there is, however, a picture of a horizontal flag.
Carlos Thompson, 29 August 2004

Reported Flag

image by Dov Gutterman, 12 May 2002

Coat of Arms

image contributed by Luis Carrillo, 7 July 2002

Municipal Flags at Gaceta de Banderas #15

I must stress that Gaceta de Banderas 15 [gdb] is a poor indicator of the actual proportions of the municipal flags. Some flags are just annexed to the Coat of Arms in a square proportion. Two of these flags were presented previously in a 2:1 proportion.  Many of these flags could be such.  I think it will be wise to place a note that indicates that the true proportions of these flags could be 1:2 also.
Blas Delgado Ortiz, 27 July 2002

Subdivisions of Caldas Department

Caldas Department is divided into Districts ("Distrito" in Spanish) that have the same definition of "Province" in other Departments.
Here are the districts in Caldas:

1) Central Southern District (Distrito Centro Sur)

2) Lower Western District (Distrito Bajo Occidente)

3) Upper Western District (Distrito Alto Occidente)

4) Northern District (Distrito Norte)

5) Upper Eastern District (Distrito Alto Oriente)

6) Magdalena Caldense

Jairo Alonso Méndez Méndez, 9 November 2005