This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Comuna 4, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Last modified: 2021-12-23 by rob raeside
Keywords: buenos aires |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[commune logo] image by Valentin Poposki, 16 September 2020
See also:

Commune 4

The City of Buenos Aires, since 1996, is divided into 15 communes. These entities has no special names, but are numbered, from Comuna 1 to Comuna 15.

Comuna 4 includes the barrios La Boca, Barracas, Parque Patricios and Nueva Pompeya.

A logo was developed for Comuna 4 in 2020 featuring a dove rising in flight above two sailing ships.

Valentin Poposki, 16 September 2020


barrio logo image located by Valentin Poposki, 16 September 2020

Barrio Barracas is part of the Comuna 4.

Emblem: The Barracas Shield, designed by Buenos Aires master Luis Zorz, was designed by the historian Enrique H. Puccia in 1968. It tries to summarize various aspects of the present and past, related to the evolution of the neighborhood.

It represents:

* Cuateador: Rider who with the quarters (braided leather ties) helped to climb the flat and loaded carts up the "Calle Larga" ravine, now Av. Montes de Oca.

* The Riachuelo and its barracks, the first port where Don Pedro de Mendoza originally guarded his ships.

* Factory barracks: Towards the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th, Barrcas was acquiring a profile of factories, railways, workshops, wool, leather and warehouses. Together with a policy of immigration and industrialization of the country.

* The role of the neighborhood in culture and the arts. Setting for novels such as "El Matadero" by Esteban Echeverría, "Amalia" by José Marmol. Cradle of visual artists, musicians, poets, community theater.

Source: (in Spanish)

No flag found.


Valentin Poposki, 16 September 2020