This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Masvingo (Zimbabwe)

Last modified: 2021-10-23 by bruce berry
Keywords: masvingo | zimbabwe |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Martin Grieve, 20 Sept 2021 See also:

Masvingo flag

Masvingo is located in the south-east of Zimbabwe and is the capital of Masvingo (formerly Victoria) Province.  During the colonial era, the town was known as Fort Victoria. It is the oldest colonial settlement in the country and was established in 1890 when the Pioneer Column passed through the area en route to Mashonaland.  It was named, on instruction of Cecil John Rhodes, in honour of the reigning British sovereign at the time.  The appendix ‘Fort’ was dropped from its name in 1899, but it reverted to its original name in 1929.  A Town Management Board was established in 1926 and municipal status was granted on 06 November 1953.  Its name was changed in 1982 and city status was granted in 2002.

The city is situated 30km from Great Zimbabwe, the ancient stone structure after which the country is named and what is now a World Heritage Site, in a predominantly agricultural and mining area.  The municipal flag is divided into two equal horizontal stripes of blue over red with the city Arms in the centre. The Arms and flag are adapted from those previously used when the city was called Fort Victoria

The current Arms replaces the Bell Tower from the old fort as the crest with the Conical Tower from Great Zimbabwe.  In the fourth quarter of the shield is a representation of the nearby Lake Mutirikwi (formerly Lake Kyle).  The dam was built in 1960 to provide water for irrigation in the Lowveld of Zimbabwe.  The main crop which is grown in the Lowveld is sugarcane.
Bruce Berry, 21 Sept 2021

Fort Victoria flag

image by Martin Grieve, 20 Sept 2021

Prior to 1982 Masvingo was called Fort Victoria and flew a municipal flag comprising two equal horizontal stripes of red over white with the municipal Arms in the centre.

image sent by Tomislav Šipek, 20 Sept 2021

The Arms were granted in terms of the Protection of Names, Uniforms and Badges Act (1950) on 25 May 1954 with the following blazon:

Arms:        Quarterly first Gules, Zimbabwe Bird Argent; Second Argent, a stem of maize proper, Third Or, pick and spade in saltire proper; Fourth Gules, Conical Tower argent.

Crest:         On a wreath of the Colours, a Bell Tower argent.

Motto:       “Our Heritage Our Guide”.

The Bell Tower as the crest is part of the original fort that was erected in 1891.  Within the shield is a representation of the Zimbabwe Bird and which features on the national Coat of Arms of both Rhodesia and Zimbabwe, symbolising the historical significance of the area.  The maize and crossed mining tools refer to the local economy and the Conical Tower, also from Great Zimbabwe, represents tourism.
Bruce Berry, 21 Sept 2021