This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

South African National Parks

SAN Parks

Last modified: 2019-08-06 by bruce berry
Keywords: south african airways | saa | union airways |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Martin Grieve, 31 May 2009

    See also:

South African National Parks

South African National Parks (SAN Parks) manages a system of parks which represents the indigenous fauna, flora, landscapes and associated cultural heritage of  South Africa. These 21 national parks and wildlife reserves offer an unrivalled variety of accommodation in arid, coastal, mountain and bushveld habitats across South Africa.  National parks offer visitors an unparalleled diversity of adventure tourism opportunities including game viewing, bush walks, canoeing and exposure to cultural and historical experiences.

The national parks are: Groenkloof, Kruger, Table Mountain, Marakele, Golden Gate, Camdeboo, Mountain Zebra, Addo Elephant, Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness, Bontebok, Agulhas, West Coast, Karoo, Namaqua, |Ai-|Ais/Richtersveld, Augrabies, Kgalagadi, Mapungubwe, Tankwa Karoo and Mokala.

The stylised face of a kudu with its magnificent, curved horns has been adopted as the logo of South African National Parks. First appearing in 1955, it has undergone many improvements over the years. This logo was initially considered secondary to those of the individual parks.  However, now the kudu is the predominant logo used to represent all parks within the SAN Parks framework. 

The logo also appears as a house flag and flies adjacent to the South African national flag at the entrances to all the national parks and at the SAN Parks headquarters in Pretoria.
Martin Grieve, 31 May 2009