This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Marshall County, Illinois (U.S.)

Last modified: 2013-10-19 by rick wyatt
Keywords: marshall county | illinois |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Marshall County, Illinois flag] image located by Valentin Poposki, 8 April 2012

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Marshall County:

See also:

Description of the flag

Flag of the Marshall County, Illinois
The Marshall County flag was designed to fly below the Stars and Strips of our country; therefore, contrasting colors were chosen. The central figures are artifacts taken from the Steuben Township site by Dan F. Morse, anthropologist. The bird effigy of valuable blue-gray flint is a nearly perfect specimen as is the bowl, a prize find. The swan bone was used to punctuate the bowl. These artifacts represent a culture of our county from 500 BC to 580 BC. Hopewellian Indians had attained a very high culture of the fine arts. The arrowhead tells of a period 500 years later. From this great ancient American culture of the Hopewellian Indians, the State of Illinois came into being. Marshall County was formed in 1839. In the flag you see an outline of the boundaries of Marshall County superimposed upon a silhouette of Illinois. The living green color of the county background represents our many growing crops. The twelve white stars denote our twelve townships; Saratoga, LaPrairie, Whitefield, Steuben, west of the Illinois River; Hopewell, Lacon, Richland, Robert, Bell Plain, Bennington, and Evans, east of the river. The design is well balanced due to the shape of our county and the fine work of artist Wilda Russell of Wenona.
Valentin Poposki, 8 April 2012