This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Zagórów commune (Poland)

Słupca county, Wielkopolskie vojvodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: zagorow |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Zagórów flag] image by Chrystian Kretowicz, 22 Nov 2008
adopted 19 Nov 2004 See also:

Zagórów city and commune flag

Zagórów - urban-rural commune, Słupca County, Wielkopolskie Voivodship - German name: Hinterberg.
Gmina Zagórów is an urban-rural gmina (commune) in Słupca County, Greater Poland Voivodship, in west-central Poland. Its seat is the town of Zagórów, which lies approximately 16 kilometres (10 mi) south of Słupca and 72 km (45 mi) east of the regional capital Poznań.
Area: 159.59 (61.6 sq.mi); Population: 9,073 (2006).

First mentioned in 1145
1407 - granted city rights by King Władysław Jagiełło
1655 - destroyed by the Swedes (The Deluge)
1790 - destroyed by huge fire
1863 - lost the city rights by the Tsar's "ukaz" (decree) as the punishment for supporting the January Uprising
1918 - recovers city rights in independent Poland
2007 - celebrates 600th Anniversary

Arms and flag adopted on November 19, 2004 (resolution # XVI/85/2004).
"Arms: rose from the noble Coat of Arms "Poraj" - on a red shield a rose of five petals with golden center and green leaves between the petals.

Flag: rectangular piece of cloth in the ratio 5:8 composed of four horizontal bands - from the bottom:
* white - 2/8 of the width of the flag
* green - 1/16 of the width of the flag
* yellow - 1/16 0f the width of the flag
* red - 5/8 of the width of the flag
On the widest, red band the rose from the Coat of Arms is placed in the middle and in the distance of 1/4 from the hoist."
Chrystian Kretowicz, 22 Nov 2008

Zagórów Coat of Arms

[Zagórów coat of arms] image by Chrystian Kretowicz, 22 Nov 2008
adopted 19 Nov 2004