This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gulf Cooperation Council

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: gcc | gulf cooperation council | international organizations |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Gulf Cooperation Council flag]
image by Zoltán Horváth, 26 October 2002

See also:


The Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (CCASG), also known as the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC; ), is a political and economic union involving six Arab states of the Persian Gulf with many economic and social objectives. Not all of the countries neighbouring the Persian Gulf are members of the council; Iran and Iraq are currently excluded, although both nations have a coastline on the Gulf. Among the stated objectives are:
- formulating similar regulations in various fields such as economy, finance, trade, customs, tourism, legislation, and administration;
- fostering scientific and technical progress in industry, mining, agriculture, water and animal resources;
- establishing scientific research centers;
- setting up joint ventures;
- unified military presence The Peninsula Shield
- encouraging cooperation of the private sector;
- strengthening ties between their peoples; and
- establishing a common currency by 2010
(However, Oman announced in December 2006 it would not be able to meet the target date. Following the announcement that the central bank for the monetary union would be located in Riyadh and not in the UAE, the UAE announced their withdrawal from the monetary union project in May 2009. The name Khaleeji has been proposed as a name for this currency. If realised, the GCC monetary union would be the second most important supranational monetary union in the world in terms of GDP, after the euro area)

It was established on May 25, 1981, and its member States are:

  • Bahrain
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates
    For additional information please see:
    Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf - Secretariat General (official website)
    Esteban Rivera, 19 March 2011

    Description of the flag

    The flag of the Gulf Cooperation Council (Majlis at-T'awwan ad-Diwal al-Khalij al-'Arabiyah) is based on an emblem find at
    Zoltan Horvath, 26 October 2002

    There is a better resolution image of the GCO (Gulf Cooperation Council) flag
    The flag is seen here:
    Esteban Rivera, 19 March 2011

    A few items about flags found here and there in Arab newspapers and websites:
    Since 25th May 2011 the six GCC countries decide to fly the GCC flag alongside their national flags according to the decision by the origanization.
    News with/without pictures, from Arabic websites (can be translated!):
    Saudi Arabia:
    Various pictures:
    Jalal Muhammed, 11 February 2012