This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gers (Department, France)

Last modified: 2020-09-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: gers |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Gers - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 16 March 2019

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 32
Region: Occitanie (Midi-Pyrénées until 2014)
Traditional province: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Haute-Garonne, Landes, Lot-et-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Hautes-Pyrénées, Tarn-et-Garonne

Area: 6,257 km2
Population (2016): 190,664 inhabitants

Préfecture: Auch
Sous-préfectures: Condom, Mirande
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 17 cantons, 462 municipalities.

The department is named after river Gers (178 km), a tributary of the Garonne.
On 4 November 1808, the canton of Lavit was transferred from the department of Gers to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne. On 5 February 1850, the municipality of Labastide-d'Armagnac was transferred from the department of Gers to the department of Landes.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Flag of Gers

The flag of Gers (photo, photo) is white with the logo adopted in 1999 by the General Council.

Created by the Paris-based communication agency Hémisphère Droit - Ailleurs Exactement, the logo features four elements: the uniform of D'Artagnan, captain of the Musketeers of the Guard; a goose representing foie gras; veins of a grapevine leaf as a symbol of health and of the "Gascon paradox" (Gers is one of the departments where French people have the longest life expectancy); and an @, as a sign for modernity.
[Les Échose, 16 December 1999]

Olivier Touzeau, 16 March 2019