This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Zaratán (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: zaratán | valladolid |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Zaratán

The municipality of Zaratán (5,245 inhabitants in 2010; 2,021 ha; municipal website) is located in the center of Valladolid Province, adjacent to Valladolid.

Zaratán was probably resettled in the 10th-11th centuries as part of the defence line of river Duero, then the border of the reconquerred territories. The village must have belonged to the Order of the Temple until transferred in 1335 by King Alfonso XI to the Las Huelgas monastery in Valladolid.

Ivan Sache, 10 May 2011

Symbols of Zaratán

The flag and arms (image) of Zaratán are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 28 January 1994 by the Valladolid Provincial Government, signed on 4 February 1994 by the President of the Government, and published on 17 February 1994 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 33 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular, gules. In the middle of the flag is placed the municipal coat of arms in full colors.
Coat of arms: Shield with the rectangular structure of a Spanish shield with a point in base and proportional relation between its lines, according to the today's norms of heraldry. The field of the shield, which is azure with a bend or charged with a tree proper encircled, is charged with the following local elements: A) in the middle: the great Cross of the Temple argent on the field of the shield azure, B) in the lower field: three bends sinister yellow on a field gules. The shield surmounted with a Royal Spanish crown [Detailed description of the crown skipped].

The base of the shield, with the yellow and red flames, comes from the arms of Valladolid.

Ivan Sache, 10 May 2011