This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cervera de Buitrago (Municipality, Community of Madrid, Spain)

Last modified: 2016-05-16 by ivan sache
Keywords: cervera de buitrago |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Cervera de Buitrago - Image by Ivan Sache, 4 July 2015

See also:

Presentation of Cervera de Buitrago

The municipality of Cervera de Buitrago (174 inhabitants in 2014; 1,202 ha; unofficial website) is located in the north of the Community of Madrid, 80 km of Madrid.

Cervera, of Moorish origin, was resettled after the Christian reconquest by shepherds from Sepúlveda. The first historical reference to the village is connected to Miguel Díaz Peñacorba, born in Buitrago, a colonizer of today's El Salvador; back to Spain in 1548, he married Francisca de Hermosa, from Cervera, where he stayed until his death. The oral tradition, however, claims that Cervera was originally known as Santa María la Mayor, disappeared and subsequently re-emerged as a hamlet of Buitrago.
Cervera appears to be named for the deer (ciervo). There were once several deers in the woods of Buitrago, which moved in spring to Cervera, the first place where snow melted and the last where sun went down.

Ivan Sache, 4 July 2015

Symbols of Cervera de Buitrago

The flag (photos, photo) and arms of Cervera de Buitrago are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 4 November 2004 by the Government of the Community of Madrid and published on 23 December 2004 in the official gazette of the Community of Madrid, No. 305, p. 27 (text). The symbols were originally approved on 3 February 2004 by the Municipal Council. The Heraldry Assessors of the Community of Madrid (Royal Academy "Matritense" of Heraldry and Genealogy) suggested on 17 February 2004 "fundamental variations" in the description of the arms.
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: In proportions 2/3. Yellow panel, at the top and bottom two Prussian blue stripes, in width 1/10th of the flag's height. In the middle is placed the municipal coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Vert a deer or with new antlers surrounded by six five-pointed stars of the same in two pales of three on each side the last one in middle chief a base wavy argent and azure. The shield surmounted by a Royal Spanish crown.

Ivan Sache, 4 July 2015