This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Xangri-lá, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-08-08 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | xangri-lá |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Xangri-lá, RS (Brazil) image by Dirk Schönberger, 6 May 2012

See also:


The municipality of Xangri-Lá (16,408 inhabitants in 2019; 6,080 ha) is located 130 km north-east of Porto Alegre.

The municipality is composed of nine sea resorts: Atlântida, Guará, Xangri-Lá, Praia dos Coqueiros, Marina, Maristela, Remanso, Arporador, Noiva do Mar and Rainha do Mar.
The municipality was established on 26 March 1992, separating from Capăo de Canoa.

Xangri-Lá is named for Shangri-La, the fictional place described in James Hilton's novel "Lost Paradise", published in 1933.
Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 8 August 2020


A dark blue flag with 5 thin white wavy stripes across the bottom, a golden sun in splendour centred, and a ring of 11 white stars, leaving a gap in the ring toward the upper fly around the sun.

Official website at
Dirk Schönberger, 6 May 2012

The flag of Xangri-Lá is prescribed by Law No. 97 promulgated on 29 December 1993.

Article 1.
b) The flag shall have a blue background, which represents the sea, with waves argent for the sea and lagoons. The sun is the source of energy that impulses the municipality; it is surrounded by stars placed clockwise, representing, the bigger in the center, the municipality of Xangri-Lá, the other, Rainha do Mar and the other settlements.
Leis Municipais database


Ivan Sache, 8 August 2020