This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

São Martinho da Serra, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-08-08 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | são martinho da serra |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

São Martinho da Serra, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 5 August 2020

See also:


The municipality of São Martinho da Serra (3,201 inhabitants in 2010; 67,190 ha) is located north-west 300 km of Porto Alegre.

São Martinho da Serra is one of the oldest settlements of central Rio Grande do Sul. Fort São Martinho, mentioned in 1774, was an outpost of the Missions' Seven Settlements during the Spanish rule. The fort was seized in 1776 by Rafael Pinto Bandeira. The next year, the Treaty of San Ildefonso established the limit between the Spanish and Portuguese possessions, which divided the territory of São Martinho. The fort was eventually reconquered in 1801 by Colonel Maneco Pedroso, Borges do Canto and Gabriel Vicente de Almeida.

The "vila" of São Martinho was established by Law No. 1,034 promulgated on 9 May 1876, separating from Cruz Alta. The municipality was suppressed in 1901, its territory being split between Santa Maria and Vila Rica (today's Julio de Castilhos).
The municipality of São Martinho da Serra was established by State Law No. 9,593 promulgated on 20 March 1992, separating from Santa Maria.
Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 5 August 2020


Diagonally divided per bend sinister red over blue, with a municipal emblem of a white Cross of Lorraine and a green ribbon in the centre.
Dirk Schönberger, 9 April 2012


Image from the municipal website

Ivan Sache, 5 August 2020