This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Condor, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-07-14 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | condor |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Condor, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 14 July 2020

See also:


The municipality of Condor (6,491 inhabitants; 46,500 ha) is located 400 km of Porto Alegre.

Condor was established as a district of Rio Pardo, a municipality created in 1809. The municipality of Cruz Alta was established on 18 August 1821; Condor belonged to its 5th district, Palmeira. The municipality of Palmeira was established in 1874; Sete de Setembro was elevated on 6 August 1918 to the capital of the 4th district. Sete de Setembro was renamed to Vila Liberdade in 1935, to be renamed to Vila Condor in 1945 for the sake of differentiation from Liberdade, Minas Gerais. The local legend says that Condor was named for a condor dragged to the town by a tornado that scoured the town in 1931, suppressing everything in a two-hundred meter wide strip.
In 1954, Condor was elevated to the 2nd district of the newly established municipality of Panambi. The municipality of Condor was established by State Law No. 4,094 promulgated on 17 November 1965, and inaugurated on 14 May 1966.
Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 14 July 2020

Description of the Flag

The flag of Condor is blue with a white lozenge charged in the center with the municipal coat of arms.


Ivan Sache, 14 July 2020