This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Conceição de Macabu, Rio de Janeiro State (Brazil)

Last modified: 2012-04-07 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio de janeiro | conceição de macabu |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Conceição de Macabu, RJ (Brazil) image located by Dirk Schönberger, 13 October 2011

See also:

Description of the Flag

Four vertical stripes, green-yellow-white-blue, ratio 1-1-2-2, with the municipal arms in the white stripe.

Official website at
Dirk Schönberger, 13 October 2011

The municipality of Conceição de Macabu (23,604 inhabitants in 2010; 348 sq. km) is located in northern Rio de Janeiro State, 230 km of Rio de Janeiro. The municipality is made of the town of Conceição de Macabu proper and of the district of Macabuzinho ("Smaller Macabu", originally Paciência do Macabu).

Conceição de Macabu is located on the territory granted in 1627 by the King of Portugal to the Seven Captains who had expelled the French from the Guanabara Bay. In the middle of the 17th century, the Sacurus natives were settled at the Our Lady of the Snows Mission, managed by the Jesuits until expelled from Brazil in 1759. Around 1814, the Sacurus withdrew to their area of origin, where they founded the villages of Macabu, Macabuzinho (Paciência), São João and Santa Catarina. Following the coffee and cane boost, the commune of Nossa Senhora da Conceição de Macabu was established in 1855 and made a "vila" seat of a municipality in 1891, seceding from Macabu. In 1892, the municipality of Nossa Senhora da Conceição de Macabu was made the district of Macabu, incorporated to the municipality of Macaé. The municipality of Conceição de Macabu was formed on 15 March 1952 with the 5th (Conceição de Macabu) and 10th (Macabuzinho) former districts of Macaé.

The symbols of Conceição de Macabu are prescribed by Municipal Law No. 88 of 27 May 1968. The coat of arms is described as follows: "Portuguese shield, tierced per fess, 1. Azure (blue) three stars or the central one bigger, 2. Gules (red) dexter a feather's coronet argent over two arrows of the same crossed per saltire sinister the emblem of the Society of Jesus of the same; 3. Vert (green) two fesses wavy argent and azure in between seven small triangles of the same. The shield supported dexter by a cane proper and sinister by a branch of coffee fructed proper. Below the shield a scroll argent inscribed in letters sable (black) '1855 - CONCEIÇÃO DE MACABU - 1952'. The shield surmounted by a five-towered mural crown argent, standing for a 'cidade', charged with an oval azure charged with a fleur-de-lis or."

The Portuguese shield recalls the Lusitanian origin of the country. The big star stands for the municipality while the two lesser ones represent the two districts. The natives' artefacts and the emblem of the Society of Jesus represent the first settlers of the place who converted to the Catholic faith. The two wavy stripes represent rivers Itabapoana (Managé) and Macaé (Miquié), which limit the bigger area where the municipality stands. The seven triangles represent the famous seven captains who organized the final steps of the colonization of the territory. The fleur-de-lis symbolizes the patron saint of the municipality, Our Lady of the Conception ("Conceição"). The years stand for the creation of the district of Nossa Senhora da Conceição de Macabu ("1855") and for the establishment of the municipality of Conceição de Macabu ("1952"). Or represents force, argent represents candor, gules represents intrepidness, azure represents serenity and green represents abundance. 

Ivan Sache, 12 March 2012