This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Abyei Special Administrative Area

Disputed territory

Last modified: 2022-04-09 by bruce berry
Keywords: sudan | abyei |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Ben Cahoon and Janis Lasmanis, 27 Feb 2022

See also:


The Abyei Special Administrative Area is located on the border between Sudan and South Sudan.  It was accorded "special administrative status" by the 2004 Protocol on the Resolution of the Abyei Conflict ("The Abyei Protocol") as part of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement that ended the Second Sudanese Civil War.  In terms of the Abyei Protocol, the Abyei area is to be jointly administered by Sudan and South Sudan.  An Abyei Area Administration was established on 31 August 2008 and was renamed the Abyei Special Administrative Area in July 2015.

The area was seized by Sudanese Armed Forces in May 2011 and subsequently a ceasefire reached on 20 June 2011.  The United Nations Interim Security Force for Abyei, under Ethiopian command, deployed peacekeepers on 15 July 2011.  The area remains in dispute with the continued presence of the UN peacekeeping force.
Ben Cahoon, 27 Feb 2022

Abyei Special Administrative Area flag

The flag of the Abyei Special Administrative Area has a white background with its logo in the centre.
Ben Cahoon, 27 Feb 2022