This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website
Grou (The Netherlands)
Boarnsterhim municipality, Fryslân province
Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: grou |
Links: FOTW homepage |
disclaimer and copyright |
write us |
Shipmate Flagchart : http://www.flagchart.net
Grouw's official Frisian name is Grou, a "vlek" in Boarnsterhim municipality,
Fryslân. It used to be the seat of the former municipality of Idaarderadeel.
Grou is the center of watersports south of Leeuwarden, with a railway station
on the line Leeuwarden - Heerenveen. In the 19th century the brothers Eeltsje
and Joast Halbertsma lived here, poets, who are considered as the fathers
of the Frisian cultural revival.
While the rest of the Netherlands celebrate "Sinterklaas" on
5 Dec, Grou (together with Ameland) celebrates
Sint Pieter on 22 Feb - it involves kids getting present, etc.
Village nickname: "Tsiisferdûnsers", cheese-dancers (some
youngsters had a great time, but the fiddler would only continue for more
money than they got. One of the youngsters ran to his dad's warehouse,
took a big cheese, and the fiddler accepted that graciously.
Grou: Coat of Arms: in blue two golden fishes (the top one turned); on the shield
a crown of three leaves and two pearls and in the bandlet three lozengy
red and two oval green gems (vlekke-kroon).
Flag: two vertical stripes of blue and yellow, proportioned 2:1; on
blue stripe two fishes on top of each other; the top one faces the
Info: see Genealogysk Jierboekje 1983, pp. 124 and 125.
Jarig Bakker, 20 Aug 2003
Grou Coat of Arms
from Genealogysk Jierboekje 1986.
Zeilvereniging "Lyts Frysia"
by Jarig Bakker, 9 Aug 2003
The Yearbook of the "Rotterdamsch Nieuwsblad" - Wie, Wat, Waar 1941
has two pages with burgees. The Zeilvereniging (sailing club) "Lyts Frysia",
in Grouw (Fryslân) had a flag blue over white.
Jarig Bakker, 9 Aug 2003