This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Central Ethiopia Regional State (Ethiopia)

Last modified: 2023-09-09 by bruce berry
Keywords: central ethiopia | ethiopia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Paraskevas Renesis, 30 Aug 2023 

See also:


The Ethiopian News Agency reported on 19 August 2023 that the Central Ethiopian Regional State has also been created which comprises Gurage, Silte, Kambata Tanbaro, Halaba, Hadia Zones and the Yem Special District.  It had previously been reported that the decision to create the new regional state, also to be carved out from the Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s Regional State (SNNPR) like the recently created Southern Ethiopia Regional State, was taken at a special meeting held on 29 November 2022 in Butajira City which was convened by SNNPR president, Ristu Yirdaw.

The initial announcement by SNNPR senior officials sparked immediate concerns due to the absence of consultation with the zonal and special woreda councils. This departure from constitutionally recognised mechanisms for creating new regional states or the reorganization at zonal and woreda levels further compounds the issue. The parallel creation of another regional state alongside the birth of the Southern Ethiopia Regional State has sparked controversy within Ethiopia where the delicate balance between the Federal Government and the aspirations of diverse regional populations has been upset by the conflict in Tigray Region (between November 2020 and November 2022) and more recently by an outbreak of violence in Amhara Regional State leading to the imposition of a State of Emergency in the region.
Bruce Berry, 30 Aug 2023

Flag of Central Ethiopia Regional State

A flag design for the new region has been shown on FacebookThe flag comprises three equal horizontal stripes of green, white and red.   In the centre of the white stripe is a circle of 10 blue five-pointed stars. 
Paraskevas Renesis, 30 Aug 2023