This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sayausí Parish (Azuay, Ecuador)

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: azuay | cuenca | sayausí |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The parish of Sayausí (369 sq. km), located in the north-east of Cuenca canton (Cuenca province), was established on 27 May 1978.
Ivan Sache, 09 January 2015

The Flag

The flag of Sayausí is horizontally divided blue-white-green. In the middle is placed a yellow trout surrounded by 12 yellow stars. Blue represents the sky, the rivers, the sources and the lakes of Cajas. White is a symbol of peace, purity and dignity. Green represents hope, work, and abundance of the vegetation and agricultural production. The trout highlights the place's tourist potential. The stars stand for the 12 boroughs forming the parish: Bellavista, Buenos Aires, Corazón de Jesús, Gulag, La Libertad, Los Ramales, Marianza, San Martin, San Miguel de Putuzhi, Santa María, and San Vicente.
Source: - "Monografía de la parroquia rural de Sayausí", by María del Carmen Vinueza Guerrero & Servio Vinicio Briones Torres (Universidad de Cuenca).
Ivan Sache, 09 January 2015