This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rhein-Erft County (Germany)

rhein-erft-kreis, north rhine-westphalia

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by german editorial team
Keywords: rhein-erft-kreis county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Rhein-Erft County flag] 3:5  Image by Stefan Schwoon
Adopted 20 Apr 1976

On this page: See also:

Rhein-Erft County

The flag is horizontally divided black-dark yellow-black in proportions 1:4:1, the arms shifted to the hoist. Source: Erich Dieter Linder, Die Flaggen deutscher Landkreise (Flags of German counties), in Der Flaggenkurier no. 2, 1996, pp. 4-10. I used the arms found in Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website, original source is Nagel 1986. Adopted 20 April 1976, according to Dirk Schönberger's Administrative Divisions of the World website.
Stefan Schwoon, 6 Feb 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website: The arms were granted on April 20, 1976. The arms show the lion of Jülich and the cross of Köln. The former county Bergheim was mainly a territory owned by the counts of Jülich in former times, whereas the [former] county Köln was ruled by the bishops of that city. The wavy fess in the upper part represents the Erft, the small river that gives the county its name.
Literature: R. Nagel, Rheinisches Wappenbuch [Rhenanian Armorial], Köln, 1986.
Santiago Dotor, 26 Oct 2001

Erftkreis county has been renamed to Rhein-Erft-Kreis (Rhein-Erft county), effective 1 November 2003. Source: Rhein-Erft County website.
Stefan Schwoon, 8 Dec 2003

| Return to Home Page (Website Search Engines) |   | Return to Top of this Page |