This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Leinburg Municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Leinburg, Landkreis Nürnberger Land, Bayern

Last modified: 2021-09-18 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: leinburg | demi-harpy | umbels(7) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Leinburg municipal banner] 5:2 image by Jörg Majewski, 10 Sep 2021
See also:

Leinburg Municipality

Leinburg Banner

It is a yellow-green vertical bicolour. The coat of arms is shifted towards the top.
Source: this online catalogue
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 10 Sep 2021

Leinburg Coat of Arms

Shield parted per pale; above Azure, a crowned demi-harpy issuant Or; beneath Argent a semi-circular wreathe of hops Vert with one leaf and seven umbels.
The demi-harpy is a differentiation of the greater arms of the Free Imperial City of Nürnberg, to which Leinburg historically belonged. The seven umbels are representing the former municipalities of Diepersdorf, Entenberg, Gersdorf, Leinburg proper, Weißenbrunn, Oberhaidelbach and Unterhaidelbach, which merged in 1978. The lower half is also alluding to the local cultivation of hops.
Source: Eckhardt Pfeiffer: "Nürnberger Land", 2nd edition, Hersbruck 1989, pp.337-339
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 10 Sep 2021

Banner and arms were approved on 31 July 1986 by district governor (Regierungspräsident) of Mittelfranken.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 10 Sep 2021

back to Nürnberger Land cities and municipalities click here