This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Deggendorf County (Germany)

Landkreis Deggendorf, Niederbayern District, Bavaria

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: deggendorf county | eagle(double-headed) | eagle(black) | bar(wavy) | triple mount |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Deggendorf County banner (Germany)] 5:2 image by Stefan Schwoon, 26 Sep 2001
approved 20 August 1986
See also:

Deggendorf County

Yellow-green with the arms, vertically hanging variety. The flag is shown on the county website. Arms from Stadler 1964-1971.
Deggendorf County had no flag before the 1972 municipal reform, during which it annexed parts of Vilshofen county.
Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000
Stefan Schwoon, 10 Feb, 12 July and 26 Sep 2001

The coat of arms was approved on 17 September 1963 and confirmed on 23 May 1973. The wavy bar are representing the two main rivers in the district, the Donau and the Isar. The green triple mount in the base of the shield is representing Bayrischer Wald, a mountainous and forestal area in the middle of Bavaria. It was also used in the arms of the Niederalteich monastery. The eagle is taken from the arms of another abbey, that of Metten. Both Benedictine monasteries were founded in the 8th century and played a major role in the local history. The golden colour of the field finally is alluding to the rich soil in the county.
Source: Stadler 1964, p.26
Santiago Dotor, 15 Nov 2001

back to Bavarian District, County and Municipal Flags Index page click here