This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Islands Trust, British Columbia (Canada)

Last modified: 2012-08-09 by rob raeside
Keywords: british columbia | islands trust |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Islands Trust, British Columbia (Canada)] image located by Vanja Poposki, 2 June 2012

See also:

Description of the flag

The Islands Trust Area covers the islands and waters between the British Columbia mainland and southern Vancouver Island, including Howe Sound and as far north as Comox. This is a unique and special place composed of 13 major islands and more than 450 smaller islands covering approximately 5200 square kilometres of land and water - an area almost the size of Prince Edward Island. About 25,000 people live on these islands.

In 1974, in recognition of the special nature of the islands in the Strait of Georgia and Howe Sound, the Government of British Columbia enacted the Islands Trust Act to protect this unique part of the world. This remarkable area is home to an exceptional variety of species of birds, fish, intertidal life, wildlife and plants. Outstanding scenery and recreational resources include panoramic viewpoints, sheltered bays with secluded beaches, protected marine waterways and anchorages and pastoral vistas. The islands also support strong communities characterized by a mix of lifestyles, livelihoods and individuals. Island residents join together to bring special skills and viewpoints to sustain a tradition of community involvement.

The trust is a unique federation of independent local governments, including Bowen Island Municipality, which plans land use and regulates development in the trust area. Like other communities in British Columbia, island communities elect their local representatives every three years. There are two local trustees elected for each group of islands designated as a local trust area or island municipality. Together, with an appointed chair from the Executive Committee, local trustees are responsible for land use decisions within their respective local trust area, excluding First Nation reserves. The Islands Trust Area is comprised of 12 local trust areas and one island municipality. Each local trust committee has land use jurisdiction over a major island, plus smaller islands and surrounding waters."
- from IT website,

The flag:
"The Islands Trust flag must incorporate the Islands Trust logo, without lettering, on a white background. The logo should be enlarged to fill approximately one third of the overall flag dimensions and the proportions of the logo must be retained. The colours used to produce the logo must be Pantone Matching System #335 (or equivalent shade of green).
- from,

The logo can be seen at
Valentin Poposki, 16 November 2011