This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oneida County, New York (U.S.)

Last modified: 2018-02-16 by rick wyatt
Keywords: new york | oneida county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Oneida County, New York] image by John Scordato, 4 April 2002

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Oneida County:

See also:

Description of the flag

A yellow flag, with a navy blue map of the state overlain by a larger scale white map of the county, a medium blue line marking the Erie Canal running across both maps, and a circle of blue stars surrounding the names of three cities in the county.  The county name and date are prominently written in navy blue in the upper hoist.
John Scordato, 4 April 2002

Oneida County (235,469 inhabitants; 314,200 ha; seat, Utica), located in central New York State, was named after the Iroquoian tribe of Oneida. The county was carved out of Herkimer county in 1798 but subsequently lost parts of its territory (1805: formation of Jefferson and Lewis Counties; 1816, formation of Oswego County).

The circle of 26 blue stars shown on the county map must represent the 26 towns of the county: Annsville, Augusta, Ava, Boonville, Bridgewater, Camden, Deerfield, Florence, Floyd, Forestport, Kirkland, Lee, Marcy, Marshall, New Hartford, Paris, Remsen, Sangerfield, Steuben, Trenton, Vernon, Verona, Vienna, Western, Westmoreland and Whitestown. The three towns of Rome (34,950 inh.), Sherrill (3,147 inh., the smallest city in the New York State) and Utica (60,651 inh.) have their name written on the map and are not represented by a star. - County map on the county website.

Ivan Sache, 3 May 2008

County Seal

[Seal of Monroe County] located by Paul Bassinson, 8 December 2016
Image obtained from