This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Newton County, Missouri (U.S.)

Last modified: 2018-07-31 by rick wyatt
Keywords: newton county | missouri |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of Newton County, Missouri] image located by Valentin Poposki, 22 November 2011

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Newton County:

See also:

The flag

"Newton County is in the US state of Missouri. It is included in the Joplin, Missouri metropolitan statistical area. The population was 58,114 at the 2010 census comprised of 20,140 households and 14,742 families. It is the eighteenth most populous county in Missouri. The county was organized in 1838 and named for John Newton, a hero of the Revolutionary War. The county seat is Neosho.

The County has a total area of 626.66 square miles, of which 626.42 square miles is land and 0.24 square miles is water. We have 2,573 acres of total lake area which is comprised of Newtonia and Thurman Lakes. We also have 70 miles of rivers comprising an area of 361 acres which are as follows: Baynham Branch, Buffalo Creek, Center Creek, Clear Creek, Dry Valley Branch, Elm Spring Creek, Five Mile Creek, Harrison Creek, Hickory Creek, Clear Creek, Indian Creek, Shoal Creek, Jacobs Creek, Lost Creek, Mason Spring Creek, Middle Creek, Rock Creek, Silver Creek, Warren Creek, and Willow Creek.

Our County has a multitude of communities as follows; Cities: Diamond, Fairview, Granby, Joplin, Neosho, and Seneca; Villages: Cliff Village, Dennis Acres, Grand Falls Plaza, Leawood, Loma Linda, Newtonia, Redings Mill, Ritchey, Saginaw, Shoal Creek Drive, Shoal Creek Estates, Silver Creek, Stark City, Stella, and Wentworth; Localities: Hornet, Monark Springs, Racine, Spring City, Tipton Ford, and Wanda." - from

The Official Flag
"In 2011 the Newton County Commission authorized the first official county flag. The Newton County Courthouse 75th Anniversary Planning Committee wanted a flag which would stand out in crowd. Kay Hively, a member of the planning committee, offered to assist with the design. Fortunately, Newton County is the perfect shape and dimension to become a flag. As designed, the New flag has an Old Glory Blue field with gold stars scattered across the flag. These gold stars represent the villages, towns, and cities of Newton County. In keeping with the United States Flag the color blue stands for "vigilance, perseverance, and justice" and the stars represent "the heavens and the divine goal to which man has aspired from time immemorial." Slightly off center on the flag is the largest star which depicts the County Seat located in Neosho. Gold letters surrounding the star state "Newton County Missouri 1838"

Using population figures and historical data provided by County statistics the stars are Placed geographically to represent towns and villages. The cluster of stars in the northeast corner of the flag represents that part of Joplin and her suburbs which lie within the boundaries of Newton County. The flag serves a reminder that Newton County is, always had been, and always will forever be, the home of Gold Star Communities." - from the same page, including image of the flag.

Valentin Poposki, 22 November 2011


[seal of Newton County, Missouri] image located by Paul Bassinson, 22 July 2018

Image source:
Paul Bassinson, 22 July 2018