This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Autonomous State of Aleppo 1920-1924 (Syria)

Alep, Sanjak of Aleppo

Last modified: 2020-07-31 by ian macdonald
Keywords: syria | aleppo | alep | sanjak of aleppo | autonomous state of aleppo | canton: france | stars: 3 (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Autonomous State of Aleppo 1920-1924 (Syria)] 2:3
image by Jaume Ollé and Eugene Ipavec, 08 May 2007
Flag adopted 1st September 1920, abolished 25th January 1925

See also:

Other sites:


The Sanjak of Aleppo [nowadays Khaleb] was established by the French in the Summer 1920 and lasted until 1924. France reunited Aleppo and Damascus on 1st December 1924. Sources and Credits.
The following is an extract from [Corre 2000] ([Franciae Vexilla, #19/65, September 2000). I have tried to stick to the text as tightly as possible (no interpretation). Possible errors come either from the original text or loose translation from French:

4. Federation of Syria, under French mandate, 1920-1925. (...) The four states of the Federation each had a specific flag with the French Tricolore in canton:
  • Aleppo: A white field charged with three five-pointed yellow stars in a triangle.
This flag was in use until 25 January 1925. Aleppo and Damascus merged on 5 December 1924 to form the State of Syria.
Unlike the image by Jaume Ollé, the original illustration in [Corre 2000 has no black fimbriation between the white stripe of the Tricolore and the white field of the flag.

Ivan Sache, 03 Feb 2001