This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

West Sweden, West Gotaland, unofficial flag (Sweden)

Västsverige, Västgötaland

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: west sweden | cross: scandinavian | scandinavian cross | gotaland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of West Sweden or West Götaland] by Jan Oskar Engene

West Sweden would approximately consist of the following provinces:

(West Gotaland would consist of the same provinces except Värmland, which is situated in Svealand)

See also:

Related sites:

About the flag

The flag, proposed in 1992, is yellow-blue-white, proportions 16:25,6.

Flagmaster No. 081 reports that this flag was "recently adopted for the region of West Sweden", encompassing the counties (län) of Halland, Älvsborg, Skaraborg, Värmland and Gothenburg and Bohus. This West Sweden region is an initiative organized by commercial interests, with municipal participation.
Jan Oskar Engene, 20 March 1996

[Note: The three former counties Älvsborg, Skaraborg and Gothenburg and Bohus form the County of Western Gotaland since 1998]

The flag recently adopted by the region of West Sweden (formed by Halland, Älvsborg, Skaraborg, Värmland, and Gothenburg and Bohus).

The flag is yellow with a white Scandinavian cross fimbrated in blue, and derives apparently from the the flag for Götaland (not to confuse with the island of Gotland), that it is yellow with a Scandinavian cross in blue, that is to say inside out that the national flag. The ratio is identical of the national flag 5:8.
Jaume Ollé, 1 October 1996