This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County of North Bothnia (Sweden)

Norrbottens län

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: north bothnia | norrbotten | reindeer | wildman |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of Norrbottens county]
illustration by Mello Luchtenberg

See also:


About the flag

The county consist of the northern parts of the provinces Lappland and West Bothnia (Västerbotten; this part of West Bothnia is nowadays often considered to be a province in its own right, called North Bothnia (Norrbotten)). The arms are quartered of the arms of West Bothnia and Lappland.
Elias Granqvist 1 October 2000

The custom, at least in Sweden, would be to put the stars in a pattern of straight rows on the shield regardless of the other charge or charges on the field, when the field is starry/the number of stars is not stated. Therefore, some of the stars might well happen to seem adjacent to the reindeer in this flag (the same can be the case about the blue balls and the elk in County of Gävleborg). The stars are however not directly aimed to be adjacent to the reindeer - it just happen to be that way in this interpretation of the arms.
Elias Granqvist, 7 October 2000


Official Blazon in Swedish

"Kvadrerad sköld: i fält I och IV Västerbottens vapen, i fält II och III Lapplands vapen"
(West Bothnia: "I med 6-uddiga stjärnor av guld bestrött blått fält en springande ren av silver med röd beväring."; Lappland: "I fält av silver en stående röd vildman med grön björklövskrans på huvudet och kring länderna, hållande i höger hand en på axeln vilande klubba av guld.")

Blazon in English

Quartered, Azure Seme of Mullets Or a Reindeer in full course Argent attired and hoofed Gules, and Argent a Wildman stantant Gules wrapped with birch leaves Vert on the head and around the waist holding a Club Or in dexter over the shoulder.
English blazon by Željko Heimer, 4 October 2000

Historical Information

See also:

Municipalities (Kommuner)

The following communes are in this county (lan). The codes following the name are assigned by Sweden for statistical purposes.

  • Arjeplog (2506)
  • Arvidsjaur (2505)
  • Boden (2582)
  • Gällivare (2523)
  • Haparanda (2583)
  • Jokkmokk (2510)
  • Kalix (2514)
  • Kiruna (2584)
  • Luleå (2580)
  • Pajala (2521)
  • Piteå (2581)
  • Älvsbyn (2560)
  • Överkalix (2513)
  • Övertorneå (2518)