This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Santa Cruz das Flores Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Santa Cruz das Flores, Açores

Last modified: 2015-07-19 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: santa cruz das flores | calvary | goshhawk(brown) | quina |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Santa Cruz das Flores municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 27 Nov 2010
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on plain green background.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 14 Sep 2007


[Santa Cruz das Flores municipality#2] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 27 Nov 2010

Coat of arms

[Santa Cruz das Flores municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta and Klaus-Michael Schneider, 26 July 2014

The arms are Argent issuant from a mound Vert a calvary (=three crosses) Sable, the central one higher, and on the chief a goshawk proper holding an inescutcheon Azure charged with five plates Argent set in quincunx. Mural crown argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "SANTA CRUZ DAS FLORES".
"Santa cruz das flores" means "holy cross of the flowers", the latter being also the name of the island where the municipality is located; since the hill on the arms is blazoned as a golgotha («um calvário»), the arms are partly canting. Would these arms bear a base wavy, so beloved of Portuguese civic heraldry, and these ares would be fully canting.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 14 Sep 2007

Flag and coat of arms adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : II Série in 1952.07.30, an unusually late date.

António Martins-Tuválkin, 14 Sep 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

Plain (monocoloured) Portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have variations without arms: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 July 1999

Presentation of Santa Cruz das Flores

Santa Cruz das Flores municipality had 2927 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 4 communes covering 72,11 km², taking up the northern half of the Flores Island. It is part of Açores Region (also a NUTS II and traditional province), former Horta District.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 14 Sep 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here