This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pinhel Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Pinhel, Distrito da Guarda

Last modified: 2014-07-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: pinhel | castle | falcon | quina |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Pinhel municipality] image by Sérgio Horta,
See also:

About the Flag

It is a quite typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a gyronny background (city rank) of blue and yellow.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 1 Dec 2006

Coat of arms

[Pinhel municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 1 Dec 2006

The arms are sable a castle or with port and windows azure charged on the main tower with an escutcheon azure five plates and flanked by two pine twigs with three cones each all under a flacon volant proper. Mural crown argent with five visible towers (city rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "CIDADE DE PINHEL".
António Martins-Tuválkin, 1 Dec 2006

"Pinhel" is cognate with "pine" (no common meaning in current Portuguese), so the cones are a canting element. The falcon in chief may have this flag mistaken for an Azorean municipal flag, which mostly show goshawks in chief.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 1 Dec 2006

Flag and coat of arms adopted and published in the official journal _Diário do Governo : I Série_ in 1941.03.22.

Version without Coat of Arms

[Pinhel municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Presentation of Pinhel

Pinhel municipality had 10 436 inhabitants in 2000, and it is divided in 18 communes, covering 484,5km². It belongs to: Guarda District District, traditional province Beira Alta, 1999 ref. adm. region Beira Interior, and C.C.R./NUT2 Centro.
Pinhel is the least populated of the "ancient 40 cities", i.e., upgraded to city status before middle of the 20th century, when elementary schooling was massified and with it fatherland geography. After the late 1960ies many settlements were newly upgraded to city status, which are the "new" cities.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 1 Dec 2006

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here