This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sete Cidades Commune (Portugal)

Freguesia de Sete Cidades, Concelho de Ponta Delgada, Açores

Last modified: 2017-01-18 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: sete cidades | base(wavy) | bridge | wavelets | crozier | charcoal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Sete Cidades commune] 2:3 image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 19 Jan 2017
See also:

About the Flag

It is a typical Portuguese communal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a plain red field.
Source: municipal webpage
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 19 Jan 2017

Coat of arms

Shield Or with base wavy of Azure over Vert, semy of wavelets Argent, issuant from base a throughout bridge Sable masoned Argent, having seven arches, in chief a crozier Gules, flanked by two charcoals Sable, glowing Gules. Mural crown Argent with three visible towers (village rank) and white scroll with inscription in black capitals "SETE CIDADES".
The name of the commune means "seven cities". Thus the number of arches probably refers to the number of cities. The base wavy refers to a mixture of sweetwater (blue) and saltwater (green), although the commune has no access to the sea.
Source: this webpage
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 19 Jan 2017

Flag and arms published in the official journal Diário da República: II Série on 25 November 2008
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 19 Jan 2017

Presentation of Sete Cidades

Sete Cidades Commune is one of the 24 communes of Ponta Delgada Municipality; it had 793 inhabitants in 2011 and covers 19.2 km².
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 19 Jan 2017

back to Ponta Delgada Communes click here