This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lajes do Pico Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Lajes do Pico, Açores

Last modified: 2015-09-05 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: lajes do pico | volcano | goshawk | quina | waves(2) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Lajes do Pico municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 15 Sep 2007
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a field quartered of green and black.

António Martins-Tuválkin, 15 Sep 2007

Coat of arms

[Lajes do Pico municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 16 Sep 2007

The arms are Argent issuant from a campaign wavy wavy Vert and Argent a volcano Sable smoking Or and Argent on the chief a goshawk Sable holding an escutcheon Azure charged with five plates Argent set in saltire (a quina). Mural crown Argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "LAJES DO PICO".
António Martins-Tuválkin, 15 Sep 2007

Flag and arms adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : I Série on 8 August 1935
António Martins-Tuválkin, 15 Sep 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

[Lajes do Pico municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Presentation of Lajes do Pico

Lajes do Pico municipality had 5041 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 6 communes covering 154,35 km², taking up the southeastern half of the Pico Island. It is part of Azores Region (also a NUTS II and traditional province), former Horta District. "Lajes do Pico" means "flagstones of Pico", the former being the natural kind, made from lava flows and the latter for the municipality location.
António Martins, 15 Sep 2007

Neither Lajes do Pico municipality nor Lajes das Flores municipality are home to Lajes Field, the Portuguese Air Base nº4 leased to the United States Air Force 65th Air Base Wing — which is located in Praia da Vitória municipality in Terceira Island.
António Martins, 20 Oct 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here