This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cuba Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Cuba, Distrito de Beja

Last modified: 2014-11-08 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: cuba(alentejo) | wheat(ear) | grapes(purple) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Cuba municipality] 2:3 image by André Serranho, 19 July 1999
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a field quarterly (meaning town rank) divided of yellow and purple.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 19 July 1999

Coat of arms

[Cuba municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 27 June 2008

The coat of arms is vert, a “bouquet” of ears of wheat or tied with a ribbon gules, between two vine grapes. Mural crown argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA DE CUBA"
The number of wheat ears is representing the four communes of Cuba.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 19 July 1999

Version without Coat of Arms

[Cuba municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Presentation of Cuba

Cuba municipality had 5360 inhabitants in 1990, and it is divided in 4 communes, covering 171 km². It belongs to the Beja District and to the old province of Baixo Alentejo.
The curious toponymical identity with the caribbean country of the same name is motive of countless jokes, especially since Alentejo is traditionally a region of communist majority. "Cuba" means in fact "tub", and the variant "cuva" also exists; this is also the etymology for the other Cuba’s name.
António Martins-Tuválkin,

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here