This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

San Sebastian (Puerto Rico)

san Sebastián

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: puerto rico | san sebastian |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Thanh-Tâm Le, 4 Febuary 1999

See also:


This city of 38,799 inhabitants was founded in 1752. The red symbolizes our Patron Saint San Sebastián Mártir [Sebastia'n Ma'rtir], and the heroic deeds of September 24, 1868, when our town was the place where blood was shed during the events originating in the Revolutionary Movement of Lares. The green represents the mountains of the Pepino, and the white wavy stripe stands for the Río Culebrinas.
Thanh-Tâm Le, 4 Febuary 1999

Coat of Arms

by Nelson Román, 29 July 2004

The original name was San Sebastián de las Vegas y el Pepino, because of its location in an extensive valley protected by mountains, watered by the Culebrinas and Guatemala rivers, and by the locally wooded hills called "pepinos" (cucumbers), characteristic of the karsic zone The three arrows represent Patron Saint of the population, San Sebastián Mártir, officially named in 1869. The arrows constitute the attribute of this Saint. According to tradition he was killed with arrows by his pursuers, giving this way testimony of faith. The arrows that appear in the old seal of the population perpetuate the use of its symbolism. The red color of the shield has in addition another symbolism; the faith of the martyr. It recalls that San Sebastián was the first town of Puerto Rico in the course of a combat operation, blood for the national freedom of Puerto Rico was spilled. It was in effect, in the plaza of the town, next to the Parochial Church, on September 24, 1868, where by the gun fire of loyal milicianos of the Spanish regime, Venancio Roman fell along with other patriotics of Lares who came to occupy the military quarters of Pepino. The Mountains: With silverplated borders, represent the characteristic mountains (Pepinos) that dominate the area from which it derives its name. The Crown: Is the heraldic standard used to identify towns, villas and cities. It symbolizes the defense and conservation of the municipal traditions and the union of intentions that must reign between the inhabitants of a municipality. The Sugar Cane and Coffee Branches: They represent main agricultural products of the zone where the population is based.
Nelson Román, 29 July 2004