This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Dwingeloo (The Netherlands)

Westerveld municipality, Drenthe province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: dwingeloo |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

former municipality of Dwingeloo Shipmate Flagchart : See also:

Dwingeloo [former municipality]

Dwingeloo is since 1 Jan 1998 part of the municipality of Westerveld (Drenthe, the Netherlands).
Flagdescription: three horizontal stripes of blue and white, proportioned 1:4:1; on white 4 red castletowers in a horizontal row.
The four castles remind of the 'havezaten' (manorial estates: Batinghe (demolished 1750), Entinghe (demolished 1832), Oldengaerde, Westrup), which were here, of which two manorhouses still exist. (v. Sierksma, Gemeentewapens).
Dwingeloo consisted of the settlements Dieverbrug, Dwingeloo, Eemster, Geeuwenbrug, Leggeloo, Lhee, Lheebroek, Voshaar, Westeinde.
Jarig Bakker, 11 August 1999.