This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kandy District, Sri Lanka

Central Province

Last modified: 2022-03-19 by ian macdonald
Keywords: sri lanka | kandy district |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Description of the flag

Kandy District is one of three district secretariats in the Central Province. I didn't find any emblem or flag for Kandy District, other than generic logo. The Kandy District Secretariat has 20 Divisional Secretariats. Most of them have no emblems of their own, but use generic logos - the State emblem and the name of the division in Singhalese and in English. However, some have their own emblems and flags.
Valentin Poposki, 23 February 2022

Divisional Secretariats

1. Akurana DS: Generic logo.

2. Delthota DS: Generic logo.

3. Doluwa DS: Generic logo.

4. Ganga Ihala Korale DS: Generic logo.

5. Gangawata Korale DS: Generic Logo.

6. Harispattuwa DS: Generic logo.

7. Hatharaliyadda DS: flag and emblem

8. Kundasale DS: Generic logo.

9. Medadumbara DS: Generic logo.

10. Minipe DS: Generic logo.

11. Panwila DS: Generic logo.

12. Pasbage Korale DS: Generic logo.

13. Pathadumbara DS: emblem and flag (small image).

14. Pathahewaheta DS: Generic logo.

15. Poojapitiya DS: Generic logo.

16. Thumpane DS: Generic logo.

17. Udadumbara DS: Has its own logo.

18. Udapalatha DS: Generic logo.

19. Udunuwara DS: Generic logo.

20. Yatinuwara DS: Generic logo.

Local Authorities

Beside the divisional secretariats, the Kandy District is further divided into 20 local authorities - 1 municipal council (MC), 4 urban councils (UC), and 15 Pradeshiya Sabha (PS) of which one has status of regional council (RC). As like the most of districts and divisions, many local authorities are using the generic logos, but there are also authentic emblems and flags.

1. Akurana PS: Emblem only.

2. Gampola UC: Emblem only.

3. Ganga Ihala Korale PS: Generic logo.

4. Gangawata Korale PS: Generic logo.

5. Harispattuwa PS: Generic logo.

6. Kadugannawa UC: Generic logo.

7. Kandy MC: Coat of arms and flag both known.

8. Kundasale PS: Emblem only.

9. Madadumbara PS: Generic logo.

10. Nawalapitiya UC: Emblem only.

11. Panwila PS: Generic logo.

12. Pathahewaheta PS: Generic logo.

13. Pathadumbara RC: Generic logo.

14. Poojapitiya PS: Generic logo.

15. Thumpane PS: Generic logo.

16. Udadumbara PS: Generic logo.

17. Udapalatha PS: Emblem only.

18. Udunuwara PS: Generic logo.

19. Wattegama UC: Generic logo.

20. Yatinuwara PS: Emblem only.