This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

West Pokot County (Kenya)


Last modified: 2014-04-19 by bruce berry
Keywords: west pokot | kenya |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Image by Jens Pattke, 15 March 2014

See also:


West Pokot County is located in the west of Kenya, bordering with Uganda.  The capital and largest town is Kapenguira.
Bruce Berry, 16 March 2014

Description of the flag

The county flag of West Pokot was adopted in November 2013 following a public participation process.  In May 2013 an advertisement calling for the public to participate in the process to design the county symbols was made.  Following a series of meetings it was agreed that Mount Mtelo, a cow, spear and shield, Ngchar, Lokotyo, Apusipus and Kokwe were items that need to be included in total, or in part, in the new symbols.  It was also suggested that four colours - green, white, yellow and black - be included in the flag.  Each of these items has specific meaning in the history and culture of West Pokot.

Image sent by Jens Pattke, 15 March 2014

The flag of West Pokot comprises three vertical stripes of green, white and green.  In the centre of the white stripe is a simplified version of the county Arms.  In each of the green stripes is a yellow triangle, one pointing to the hoist and the other pointing to the fly.
Jens Pattke, 15 March 2014