This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Var (Department, France): Intermunicipal Authorities

Last modified: 2019-04-27 by ivan sache
Keywords: var |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Index of the Intermunicipal Authorities

  • Communautés de communes 7)
    • Cœur du Var
    • Golfe de Saint-Tropez
    • Lacs et Gorges du Verdon
    • Méditerranée Porte des Maures
    • Pays de Fayence
    • Provence Verdon
    • Vallé du Gapeau

Métropole Toulon-Provence-Méditerranée

Communauté d'agglomération Toulon-Provence-Méditerranée

[Flag]         [Flag]

Flag of the Communauté d'agglomération Toulon-Provence-Méditerranée, current and frormer versions - Images by Olivier Touzeau, 27 August 2017/P>

The Communauté d'agglomération Toulon-Provence-Méditerranée (TPM; 437,460 inhabitants in 2015; 36,641), established in 2001, is made of twelve municipalities: Toulon (seat), Carqueiranne, La Garde, Hyères, Ollioules, Le Pradet, Le Revest-les-Eaux, Saint-Mandrier-sur-Mer, La Seyne-sur-Mer, Six-Fours-les-Plages, La Valette-du-Var and La Crau (2009). It became a Métropole on 1 January 2018.

The flag of TPM (photo) is white with the logo of the authority. The logo, used at least since 2012, is a modification of the previous logo, also used on a wnite flag (photo): the star liesnow on the right side, the first letters of each word are in a bold typeface, and the URL of the official website is included.

The blue color is prescribed as Pantone 286 C and CMYK 100-66-0-2. The typeface is prescribed as Trajan (graphical charter).
The Trajan typeface was designed by Carol Twombly for Adobe in 1989. The letters at the base of the Trajan column in Rome are generally regarded as the best examples of ancient Roman inscriptional lettering, and have served repeatedly as the models for capital letters throughout the history of typography.
[TRAJAN® PRO 3, presented by John D. Berry]

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 2 January 2018

Ports TPM


Flag of Ports TPM - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 28 August 2017

As of 1 January 2017, TPM is responsible for the development, maintenance and management of the eight departmental ports previously managed by the Syndicat mixte Ports Toulon Provence (new name, adopted in 2009, of the Syndicat mixte Ports du Levant). This was required by Law No. 991 about the New Territorial Organization of the Republic, enacted on 7 August 2015, which increased the areas of competence of the communautés d'agglomération. Accordingly, TPM is now the owner and responsible for the management and development of ports of L'Ayguade du Levant, Porquerolles, La Tour Fondue, La Madrague de Giens, Toulon–La Seyne/Brégaillon, Le Lazaret, Saint-Elme and Le Brusc.
These eight ports are gateways into the TPM territory and represent a significant economic and tourist weight for its regional development. They represent 4.5 million passengers and 262 stops of yachts per year Toulon is the 1st port to serve
Corsica with 1.4 million passengers, and the 3rd port of continental France for the cruising.
[TPM website]

The flag of Ports TPM - the TPM port authority, as seen in Porquerolles in August 2017, is white with the authority's logo.


Flag of Ports Toulon Provence - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 28 August 2017

The flag of Ports Toulon Provence (photo) - the former port authority - was triangular, white with the authority's logo.

Olivier Touzeau, 28 August 2017