This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nienburg/Weser county (Germany)

Landkreis Nienburg/Weser, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: nienburg/weser |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Nienburg/Weser County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 31 Dec 2007
Flag adopted 17 Nov 1955

See also:

Nienburg/Weser county

County: Nienburg/Weser
county seat: Nienburg/Weser
area: 1,398.90 qkm
population: 125,436
divisions: 36 municipalities, incl. 32 in 8 Samtgemeinden*, 1 city, 2 towns
Flag adopted 17th November 1955
CoA adopted 25th February 1935
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 31 Dec 2007


[Nienburg/Weser County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 31 Dec 2007
adopted 25 Feb 1935

Additions : 1932 Stolzenau
The arms were granted on February 25, 1935.
The largest part of the district historically belonged to the County of Hoya until 1582. This is symbolised by the bear's claw, taken from the Hoya arms. The horn in the lower left part is derived from the arms of the Counts of Wölpe (see als Neustadt am Rübenberge), who also played a major role in the history of the district. The chief shows two horse heads, a typical decoration on the farms in the district.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.