This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Capinzal, Santa Catarina (Brazil)

Last modified: 2021-12-11 by ian macdonald
Keywords: santa catarina | capinzal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of 
Capinzal, SC (Brazil)] image by Dirk Schönberger, 31 May 2012

See also:


The municipality of Capinzal (20,919 inhabitants; 24,390 ha) is located 375 km west of Florianópolis.

Capinzal was named for the grass ("capim") sown by Antonio Lopes, from São Paulo, to establish pastures for his cattle. The nearby river was named to river Capinzal.
The district of Rio Capinzal was established in 1914 within the municipality of Campos Novos. The municipality of Capinzal was established on 30 December 1948 and inaugurated on 17 Febraury 1949.
Th St. Paul Apostle church in Capinzal is a faithful replica of the St. Peter basilica in Rome.
Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 2 November 2021

Description of the Flag

A blue flag with four narrow horizontally stripes across the middle and with a municipal symbol in the centre on a white disk.

Official website at
Dirk Schönberger, 31 May 2012

The flag of Capinzal is prescribed by Municipal Law No. 802 promulgated on 11 July 1977.

Article 1.
The flag of the municipality is the proposal selected by the jury of the contest organized by the municipal Executive, composed of [...].

Article 2.
The winning design was submitted by student Mirna Markus, with modifications and additions requested by the jury and approved by the municipal Legislative.

Article 3.
The design is composed of a white background with two blue horizontal stripes at the ends, on the whole flag's length. In the center a yellow cogwheel interlaced with a soybean plant. In the upper semi-circle, eight uniform blue rays, each charged with a letter, resulting in "CAPINZAL" In the lower semi-circle, 15 blue stars geographically arranged, representing, the bigger star, the municipality seat, the intermediate star, the district of Alto Alegre, and the smaller stars, the 13 other settlements composing the municipality, which are: Residencia, São Roque, Entrada, Duas Pontes, Engenho Novo, Barro Preto, Barro Branco, Nova Beleza, Empreza Velha, Vidal Ramos, Linderberg, Barra de Pinheiro, and Ricardopolis.
The soybean plant shall be green (leaves) and bright yellow (fruits). Below the general drawing, a scroll inscribed with the municipality's date of foundation. To complete the design, three blue stripes on each size, arranged in a semi-circle and significantly narrower than those at the ends.
Legislação Municipal database


Ivan Sache, 2 November 2021