This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Getúlio Vargas, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-07-25 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | getúlio vargas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Getúlio Vargas, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 18 July 2020

See also:


The municipality of Getúlio Vargas (16,154 inhabitants in 2010; 28,712 ha) is located 330 km north-west of Porto Alegre.
The municipality was established by Decree No. 5,788 promulgated on 18 December 1934, separating from Erechim and Passo Fundo.

The municipality's namesake is President Getúlio Vargas (1882-1954).
Vargas led the 1930 Revolution that ended the First Brazilian Republic (República Velha); he presided the Provisory Government from 1930 to 1934, was elected President of the Republic by the National Constituent Assembly in 1934, and eventually led the Estado Novo (New State) dictatorship from 1937 to 1945. Elected President of the Republic in 1951, he committed suicide in 1954. He was inscribed on the Book of the National Heroes, housed on the third floor of the Tancredo Neves Pantheon of the Fatherland and Freedom in Brasília.

Ivan Sache, 18 July 2020

Description of the Flag

The flag of Getúlio Vargas is white with the municipal coat of arms in the center.

The coat of arms of Getúlio Vargas was designed in 1959 by Friar Cândido Bairros (1925-2017).


Ivan Sache, 18 July 2020